### Construction, Forestry, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union

# CFMMEU - Construction and General Division - Victoria-Tasmania Divisional Branch

## **ELECTION NOTICE - E2020/95**

#### **Scheduled Election**

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for:

#### Victoria-Tasmania Divisional Branch

- Divisional Branch President (1)
- Divisional Branch Senior Vice-President (FEDFA) (1)
- Divisional Branch Vice-President (1)
- Divisional Branch Secretary ex officio Divisional Branch Delegate to Divisional Conference (1)
- Divisional Branch Assistant Secretary (2)
- Divisional Branch Council Member Metropolitan Melbourne Zone (72)
- Divisional Branch Council Member Geelong Zone (4)
- Divisional Branch Council Member Central Victoria Zone (4)
- Divisional Branch Council Member Northern Victoria Zone (4)
- Divisional Branch Council Member Latrobe Zone (4)
- Divisional Branch Management Committee Member (23)
- Divisional Branch Delegate to Divisional Conference (15)
- Divisional Branch Organiser (18)

#### Members residing or employed in the State of Tasmania

- Sub-Branch President (Tasmania) (1)
- Sub-Branch Secretary (Tasmania) (1)
- Sub-Branch Management Committee Member (Tasmania) (6)

**Nominations**, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 17/11/2020.

A nomination form is available from the AEC website <a href="www.aec.gov.au/ieb/">www.aec.gov.au/ieb/</a>. The nomination form can be downloaded then completed and signed by the nominee and the required number of nominators.

Additional nomination forms are available from the Returning Officer.

Offices that require nominees to have 3 years continuous financial membership require at least 10 nominators. All others require at least 5 nominators.

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below **not later than 4pm AEDT on 08/12/2020.** 

How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via the following method(s):

By Portal: Australian Electoral Commission Portal, www.aec.gov.au/ieb/

**By Email:** A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to IEBnominations@aec.gov.au

#### PLEASE NOTE:

1. Emails to the AEC inbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC before the deadline for nominations.

- 2. To be received by the AEC, emails (including attachments) should be no greater than 6 MB in size.
- 3. You may call 03 9285 7111 to enquire about the status of your nomination.

#### **Withdrawing Nominations**

Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 4pm AEDT on 15/12/2020.

#### **Candidate Statements**

Candidates may submit a statement to be included with ballot material. Only statements which comply with the Rules and are received by the Returning Officer by 4pm AEDT on 08/12/2020 can be accepted.

In accordance with Rule 38(f) candidates may include with their nomination form, a statement not exceeding 200 words and in respect of Divisional Branch Councillor members not exceeding 50 words, containing only the candidate's personal history and policy statement.

Candidate statements will only be accepted via online submission. Click <a href="here">here</a> to upload your statement or navigate to the AEC website <a href="www.aec.gov.au">www.aec.gov.au</a>, select Information Centre, Industrial Elections and Ballots and scroll down to Candidate Resources.

#### **Voting Period**

The ballot, if required, will open on 01/02/2021 and close at 12 midday AEDT on 02/03/2021.

#### **Scrutineers**

The appointment of scrutineers opens on 17/11/2020 and closes at 12 midday AEDT on 02/03/2021.

A Scrutineer Appointment form is available from the Returning Officer.

#### Other Information

Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now.

A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

As per Rule 38 (c) Divisional Executive members, full-time Divisional Officers, National Conference delegates and National Officers are elected by and from Divisional Branch delegates to Divisional Conference and not otherwise.

Allison Valentine Returning Officer

Telephone: 03 9285 7111 Email: <a href="mailto:lEBevents@aec.gov.au">IEBevents@aec.gov.au</a>

